Consulting Speak 101 – Lesson #1: Making “The Deck”

Standard

Welcome to the first of ten lessons where you’ll learn to speak like a real value-driven consultant. 

Getty Images

You didn't think the Power Rangers could be Rangers forever, did you?

Make yourself sound more important and authoritative, and win arguments by unloading massive payloads of awe-inspiring corporate buzzwords! 

We hope you’ll use these buzzwords at work, the coffee shop, or even at the grocery store. 

Without further ado, here is our first lesson: 

Lesson #1: Making “The Deck”

A “deck” (or “slides”) is synonymous with “PowerPoint Presentation”, ”PPT” or “Presentation”. 

Buzzwords (in bold) and usage suggestions: 

Mr. Halpert, we’ve got a real situation on our hands. I’m going to have to push our 2 o’clock or else the deck won’t get done.  I’ll circle back with you later.

Circle + Back.

Being a consultant has never been so easy! 

“Dwight, this slide is far too busy, let’s try not to drain the deck now. We don’t want to boil the ocean over here.”  

...and boilin teh oceans

And my personal favourite: 

“Pam, why don’t you go ahead and take notes on the go/no-go criteria discussion so we can bake it into the final deck later.” 

  

MMmm.... pie

 

We end our lesson with a video:

That wraps up our 1st lesson – quick and simple, wasn’t it? Make sure you subscribe with us on RSS/Reader to keep yourself in the loop and in the know. 

Up Next: Lesson #2: Create Something Out Of Nothing 

*Special thanks to all my colleagues in the corporate world who make this post a reality

6 thoughts on “Consulting Speak 101 – Lesson #1: Making “The Deck”

  1. You actually make it seem really easy along with your presentation
    but I to find this matter to be actually something which I feel
    I’d never understand. It kind of feels too complex and extremely large for me. I am taking a look forward for your subsequent post, I will try to get the hold of it!

  2. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this website before but after looking at a few of the articles I realized it’s new
    to me. Anyhow, I’m certainly happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

Leave a Reply

